An Open Letter To My Daughter’s Teacher

Tomorrow is the last day of school before summer break begins. I can imagine that the last few weeks of school are rough. The kids are restless and eager for all of the fun, end-of-year activities and then summer. The parents are anxiously awaiting that last test, asking for that last conference to see if little Timmy or Sally will be moving on to the next grade. Your days must be spent corralling and calming children and parents alike. 

I wanted to take a moment to talk to you. I wanted you to be able to read this on your time table, though, not mine. This isn’t urgent. Sally will still be headed for the next grade level even if you never read this.

I wanted to say something important, though. I wish it was profound and original. If I were more ingenious, perhaps I could contrive something to accurately convey my feelings. Instead, I’m left with an over-used, often obligatory little sentence as my medium of expression. In this scenario, it isn’t obligatory at all but rather from the heart. So here it is:

Thank you.

I have heard you speak to your student’s family members many times throughout this school year. I have often heard these words from you: “Thank you for entrusting your child to me.”

You have even said those words to me. Those words, backed up by your actions, have prompted this most heartfelt thank you. Those words reassured me that you see my daughter as the precious and vulnerable little individual she is. Those words have reassured me that you understand the potential impact your words and actions can have on my child.

So much of my daughter’s future self will be built upon the foundation that is forming right now. You have made a conscious effort to encourage her to improve the things that needed improving and then to praise her once she has succeeded. You have added some strong, sound bricks to her foundation.

Thank you for giving her praise only where she has earned it. Thank you for showing her that there is always room for improvement. Thank you for giving her goals and allowing her to experience the thrill of meeting those goals.

There are some things that just don’t mean as much coming from mom. Thank you for pointing out her strengths to her. She trusts your opinion to be honest and true; your praise holds high value for her.

Mostly, I just want to say thank you for your heart. Your heart is in everything you do as my daughter’s teacher. I couldn’t possibly ask for anything better than that. My best wishes go to you.

2 Replies to “An Open Letter To My Daughter’s Teacher”

Leave a Reply

