I’m Still Here

The title says it all! Still no baby.

I must say it is quite fun to go out in public and freak people out, though. Well, not really freak them out, but watch their reactions when I answer their baby-related questions. Almost everyone wants to know when I am due.

Yesterday, I had a conversation with a lady at the dentist’s office that went something like this:

Lady: “When are you due?”

Me: “Yesterday.”

Lady: (Wide-eyed) “Oh, are you scheduled to be induced then?”

Me: “Nope.”

Lady: (Looking even more concerned and wide eyed now) “How many babies are you having?”

Me: (Pointing to Eva) “Well, I had her and now I’m having this one.”

Lady: “Looks like you could pop at any moment!”

She then proceeded to ask if it was a boy or a girl and the name and if Eva is excited, etc. All the normal chatter that complete strangers really have no business initiating but can’t seem to resist.

I know, I know, I should graciously accept such things, but I have a hard time with strangers inquiring about my unborn child. If there is more than a passing comment or the typical “how much longer” question, I tend to get protective. If the conversation then gets directed to Eva to ask her all about how she “feels” about having a new baby, I get even more annoyed with the conversation.

Yesterday, I wanted to tell this woman to quit asking questions and mind her own business. I also wanted to tell Eva that it is ok to not be excited, that there are a million other emotions in the world she can be feeling about suddenly having a baby in the house. But I didn’t.

So, I am continuing to wait patiently for this baby of mine to make his appearance. I’m losing patience with people, but not so much with waiting.

8 Replies to “I’m Still Here”

  1. I’ve had a hard time with strangers too. On one hand, I should accept the niceness and human connection. On the other, just because I’m pregnant doesn’t make me public property. I think the real thing that bugs me are the opinions. I was in the downstairs bathroom at work, and a woman looked at me and said, “I bet you’re ready to be done being pregnant, right?” And then I had to be friendly back and smile and be like, “yeah, haha, it’s getting close,” but really I just didn’t want to talk to her.

    My boyfriend has a 14-year-old boy already, and everyone constantly asks us if he’s excited. Um, he’s 14. I don’t think he’s excited about a newborn, which is ok. Honestly, I’m just hoping the new baby crying all the time will act as a sort of birth control for him. 😉

    1. I really dislike it when Eva is with me. It feels like the general public is sending her a message I’m not comfortable with, that she is expected to be excited and that the focus is solely on the “new” baby. I’m lucky she isn’t having issues (so far, knock on wood) with adding to our family, but man some people’s comments would probably give me a complex if I were her! A congratulations or when are you due is harmless. I wish more people would stick to one or the other.

  2. Uhg, people are stupid! FWIW, I’m glad I didn’t induce–I had a good birth w/o complication (no pitocin, not much tearing) and we’ve had a good first week together–she’s eating great, no jaundice, etc. And I think letting her come at her own pace made a difference. But I almost induced-źat 41w2d I was weary and people kept saying “Where’s that baby?!” SMH. XOXO

  3. I’m feeling you! 39+1 for me today and I am so ready for baby to be here, but I also know she will show up in her own time (except she will get a forced eviction, induction, if/when we reach 2 weeks past EDD). I’ve already started getting looks and comments…Meh. I’ll hide at home more, then people can’t ask. 😀

    1. I’m having some regular-ish contractions today. I’m hoping tonight might be “it” for me!

      People. I get that babies are such a magical miracle event and people feel like that brings us all together, but man, just think before you speak is all I’m asking!

Leave a Reply

