39 Weeks (Well, a few hours shy, anyway)

The end is in sight…I hope.

This baby boy of mine has been pretty cooperative during our almost 39 weeks of adventure. Tomorrow technically marks 39 weeks.

I can tell this baby is starting to really run out of room, though. His movements are slower (except for the startle reflex moves that happen every once in a while) and more deliberate. He is obviously trying to stretch a little instead of just play.

I’m getting pretty uncomfortable and ready as well. I have made it much further than I did with Eva before hitting the “Get this baby out of me” stage. I’m hoping this sentiment will prompt my body to get everything prepped.

I’m also hoping that my son is producing lots of surfactant in his lungs since that triggers a hormonal cascade to signal readiness for birth.

You know the old saying, “If wishes were horses then beggars would ride?” Well, I think maybe that applies here. I can wish and hope all I would like.

I declined getting my cervix checked at my 38 week appointment. I didn’t want to be disappointed to hear that my cervix is still only dilated to 1 cm. I told my obstetrician when she asked if I would like to be checked, “Nah, let’s live in suspense.”

She made some joke about living on the edge and then told me a story about a patient. She has a great sense of humor, and she loves to share stories that are similar to the situation. Some of which are really helpful and others not so much, but I’m losing focus. Back to my point.

Did you know that the average American woman carries her baby 41 weeks and 3 days if left alone? I’m still hoping this week is my week.

So, what’s going on with me physically you might (I highly doubt) be asking. For those that might be curious, and let’s face it, just because I feel like telling someone (other than my poor husband who has to be tired of hearing my complaints), here is the run down:

  • I over-did it a bit the last couple of days (it was for a very important cause, though!) and the results are my first bit of swelling since my first trimester. My ankles and feet are puffy. Nothing extreme, but I can feel it.
  • My pelvic muscles are really angry at me for my over-activity.
  • I have 4-8 contractions a day, unless I’m tired or sore. It seems like my body thinks it is a bad idea to have contractions if I’m already exhausted or already have sore muscles.
  • I have 2-8 contractions every single night that are strong enough to wake me up.
  • My seasonal allergies have combined with the increased mucus production that is typical of the third trimester to create the perfect mucus storm. I am taking Benadryl at night so I can breathe.
  • My blood glucose levels are still within favorable ranges, but some days I have to eat more carbohydrates. The days that I need more food are also the days that I am contracting about once an hour.
  • Some days I have to pee every 30 minutes. Other days, I only go as often as I used to (I’m attributing this to position changes of my son).

I am still trying to be proactive about getting my ideal birth (VBAC, drug and intervention free). What I’m doing:

  • Walking daily for at least 10 minutes twice a day. I couldn’t be happier that the temperatures have finally gone up. Usually, around dinner time it is around 70 degrees (Fahrenheit) outside. Eva couldn’t be happier to be my walking buddy.
  • Practicing prenatal yoga as needed or at least three times a week. I could barely walk this morning when I woke up. After about 20 minutes of yoga, though, everything had stretched and relaxed enough for me to walk comfortably. It never ceases to amaze me how much of a difference it makes.
  • I am drinking raspberry leaf tea in an effort to make sure my uterus is toned and ready.
  • I am prayerful daily, making an effort to sit quietly and meditate on getting my body to open up and let my baby out.

So, that’s where things stand at the moment. I am seven days away from my due date. I’m still thinking my real due date is the 18th instead of the 23rd, though. Only time will tell when I actually give birth, but the countdown continues.

I feel the need to say that my husband is an amazing man. He has been doing much more than his fair share of the household chores. Today and yesterday he did pretty much everything around the house. My house could certainly use some deep cleaning, but the fact that he is helping so much with the daily tasks has made a huge difference for me.

Hopefully, the next post I post will be a birth announcement! If you are a praying person, send some my way if you would! I greatly appreciate all the prayers and well wishes I have been receiving both in the real world and from my fellow bloggers!

16 Replies to “39 Weeks (Well, a few hours shy, anyway)”

    1. I have been pretty lucky. I think most of it has been a result of my crazy-strict diet. I also noticed the other day I don’t put salt on anything these days. Nothing. Which is not normal for me. So I wonder if that has also played a role.

      I am so hoping to post a birth announcement soon! Fingers crossed!

    1. Hmmm. Maybe I should quit taking it then? I definitely have contractions while taking it, though. I appreciate all the positive thoughts! This inbetween period of done being pregnant and waiting for birth is definitely an odd headspace to be in I think.

    1. Anytime indeed! People at my daughter’s school keep asking her if her baby brother is here yet/how mich longer until he arrives. She knows exactly how many days until my due date but she gives the best answer every time. She says, “Just anytime he is ready is fine with us, but sometime in March.”

Leave a Reply

