Versatile Blogger Award

Versatile Blogger badge

I was nominated by My Perfect Breakdown for the Versatile Blogger award.  Thank you very much MPB, I appreciate that you thought of me! My Perfect Breakdown writes about her life in an emotionally honest way that always draws me in. Thank you for sharing with us all, MPB!

As with all blogger awards, there is a set of rules to accompany your acceptance post. Here are the rules:

1. Post the award on your blog
2. Thank the person who nominated you
3. Share seven facts about yourself
4. Nominate 15 blogs
5. List the nominees and let them know

So, let’s start with seven facts about me!

1. I’m a natural blond. I have tried (unsuccessfully) to be many other things. It never works out, though. As soon as my roots begin to appear, it usually looks like I’m going bald if I have dyed my hair a darker color than my natural blond (which is pretty much any other color) because my roots are so much lighter. As a result of this life-long affliction as a blond, I have a vast repertoire of terrible blond jokes. No, I did not go looking for these jokes, if you get my drift.

2. I am only 5’2″, and I played volleyball in junior high and high school. I was a great athlete, and part of my volleyball success was because I worked on my vertical day in and day out. I could jump from a flat-footed position a full 24 inches. I was very proud of myself to be able to get up high enough to work the net at more than a proficient level.

3. Unfortunately, I have a thing about books. I have a hard time getting rid of books I have read. The purchase of a Kindle is probably the best thing to ever happen to me because I can keep as many e-versions as I would like without cluttering up my house. I still own most of the college text books from my stint in nursing school almost four years ago.

4. I have never had cable service. Ever.

5. I grew up in the country, surrounded by words. We had ducks, goats, dogs, cats and bunnies at various times growing up. We also had giant black snakes in those woods that would measure in the eight foot plus range. And I’m terrified of snakes! A giant black snake tried stealing an “egg” from one of our ducks. It wasn’t even an egg, though, it was a car part. The duck had issues (an infertile duck, possibly, which I now sympathize with greatly); she never managed to lay an egg. She built a nest and then moved a car part to her nest from my dad’s stash of things he couldn’t bring himself to part with. She sat on that car part for endless hours day in and day out. She was so serious about protecting her “egg” that when the snake showed up, striking at her and trying to get her off of her nest, she continued to sit on that egg and just raised the alarm. She caused so much noise that it quickly brought me and my brother outside. My brother killed the snake, saving her and her “egg”.

6. I didn’t learn to read until I was almost eight (at least I think 8, by what me and my mother remember). My mother homeschooled me, and she believed in child-led learning. She knew I was smart enough to read, but I had no desire to read. I avoided all of her efforts to teach me. She purchased several different curriculum programs that were supposed to make reading fun or easier or whatever, and I ignored every single one of them. It wasn’t until I realized my friend could read and I couldn’t that suddenly I began reading. I was at a 4th grade reading level within the first three months of reading. I surpassed my older brother in reading very quickly. I was reading chapter books in no time.

7. I have a love/hate situation with cooking. I love to cook good food, but it takes so much time and creates such a mess! I hate the clean-up. Plus, since my PCOS/insulin resistance diagnosis, I haven’t been cooking the foods I really love because most of those foods have a high carbohydrate content.

My fellow nominees:

1. Ben’s Bitter Blog–Ben blogs about all aspects of life with humor

2. Science of Mom–a mom oriented blog that covers different kid-related scientific studies

3. Hunting For Bliss–she blogs about life, family, motherhood and her latest adorable twins

4. Not So Quiet Momma–she blogs about being a mom, wife, teacher to her kids, and life in general

5. Sass & Balderdash–a humorous blog that covers just about everything

I am breaking the rules and stopping with five blogs. I hope all of you on those five blogs take the time to tell us a little bit about yourself!

2 Replies to “Versatile Blogger Award”

Leave a Reply

