Early Labor

Warning: TMI! I’m going to share all of my early labor symptoms, and some are gross.

I have had three contractions tonight heavy duty enough to wake me up! I’m so excited about them that I find myself having a hard time going back to sleep.

I have been having signs of early labor since Tuesday night. I know this is probably just my body tuning up for the real deal, but I’m getting more and more excited as all my symptoms become more frequent.

Given that this stage of things could progress to labor or could last like this for weeks, I’m sure my enthusiasm for it may change. Before it does, I would like to outline what’s happening at this point.

On Tuesday, my doctor said I am dilated to 1 cm. Tuesday evening, I began feeling achy and cramps, very similar to PMS cramps.

Wednesday, the light cramping continued and was joined by frequent trips to the bathroom. I began experiencing a lot of gas and had many loose bowel movements. Wednesday evening, I had a really serious contraction that made me stop mid-sized and made my entire belly hard as a rock!

Thursday morning, my blood sugar was a higher fasting number than I have had in a long time. I struggled all day Thursday to understand my numbers. I stayed at a 95 all day after every meal until I went to Wal-Mart in the afternoon. My blood sugar dropped in the middle of the store and I thought I was going to pass out. Chocolate and almonds saved the day, though. I felt dizzy and like the room was spinning off and on after this incident (which is typical for me if my blood sugar has tanked or spiked suddenly) all evening. I had a couple of Braxton-Hicks in the evening.

A little after midnight, the first contraction woke me. It felt like a very intense cramp that built and built and built and then began to slowly ease away. It made me nauseated. I didn’t look at a clock until it was over. I’m not timing anything until it becomes more consistent.

About an hour later, it happened again, but this time it was intense enough I needed to stand up.

Around 2:40 am, I had another wake me up. I sat up and rubbed my belly until it passed. I also noticed I have a runny nose now. I am also urinating frequently.

I have had a lot of pelvic pressure and discomfort that comes and goes since Tuesday as well.

So, that’s where things stand at the moment. We might be doing this for weeks or I might progress to a more consistent pattern anytime. Since I am only 36 weeks and 4 days, I’m not up walking  or doing anything to actively try to get things to progress. Even though the doctor said we are safe to go at any time now, I would still like him to stay in there until 37 weeks.

14 Replies to “Early Labor”

  1. How exciting! I’m sure you hope your little one will wait just a little while longer, but it’s hard when you’re ready to meet them! I had “early labor” like you describe for almost a month! Agghh that was too long! Annabelle took her time…41 weeks and a day!

    1. Well, let’s hope it doesn’t last that long! I do want him to stay put for kust a few days more, though, for sure. I’m starting to have a harder time keeping my blood glucose levels up, though, which my doc said is a sign that my placenta is getting old. So, I’m hoping my body and baby just communicate properly with each other and get him here at the right time!

    1. I’m getting excited, too, except that I’m starting to feel pretty awful. I’m very nauseated and I have to eat every 30 min to keep my blood sugar up! Hard to do when you feel like puking. So say a prayer for me please!

Leave a Reply

