36 Weeks 1 Day

Today, we had another ultrasound.

In my 32 week post, I was dismayed that my son’s weight was estimated to be in the 97th percentile. I was frustrated that my gestational diabetes, even though I was tightly controlling my diet, seemed to calling the shots. I was frustrated that this news seemed to put my thoughts of a natural birth on a pedestal as an unobtainable ideal.

I spent the next month eliminating even more carbohydrates from my diet, mostly from breakfast because my blood sugar was spiking more frequently after breakfast. I made sure I was completing some moderate exercise for 10 minutes after breakfast and lunch each day.

Today, my son’s weight measured in the 54th percentile! I couldn’t be more ecstatic! His weight gain slowed since our last scan. He is still plenty tall, though, according to his femur (70th percentile). But, we can deal with tall. Tall is just fine by me!

The ultrasound tech confirmed his gestational age is still five days ahead of the original estimated due date. She confirmed that his spine and skull look perfect. She confirmed that his heart and kidneys are both looking perfectly normal as well. She did not complete his biophysical profile, though, so poor guy still had to have a non-stress test complete.

He kicked and carried on throughout the non-stress test (NST). I was sitting there strapped up for about 8 minutes without a solid minute of usable results when my doctor came in. As he did at the last appointment, he immediately settled down and quit kicking the sensors once my doctor started talking. I wish I knew what he was thinking. It sure seems like he likes her voice or something.

My doc swabbed me to check for group B strep after the NST was completed. She then checked my cervix for dilation. To her surprise, she reported I am about one centimeter dilated. Excitement abounds! I knew my body was working on something in that department.

As for my weight, I am still maintaining and not gaining. I am at my pre-pregnancy weight of 217. My blood pressure is still within the perfect range. I have no swelling and I am wearing my rings (which are actually a bit on the loose side when my hands are cold). Somebody knock on some wood real quick before I say this, but everything seems to be going really well!

So, my natural birth seems like more of a possibility today! I am saying lots of thankful prayers today!

22 Replies to “36 Weeks 1 Day”

  1. How fantastic!! So happy to hear all this good news. πŸ™‚ How cute that your baby likes the drs voice. I haven’t noticed anything like that with Levi. Makes me wonder if I’m just not paying attention…

    So, if you haven’t gained weight this pregnancy, then I guess when you have the baby you will actually be well below pre pregnancy weight. How cool is that!?! πŸ™‚

    I’m so anxious for my 36 week appointment next week to see if I’m dilated. I was with Tru by that point but everything has been different this time so… I’m really hoping I am!!!

    1. Thank you! πŸ˜€ He definitely seems to listen in on my conversations. I had to have some work done on my toe a month or so ago and he seemed to stop and listen closely every time my podiatrist spoke. It was so weird. I didn’t tell the podiatrist because I was afraid he would think I was crazy. But he became really active every time the podiatrist would quit talking and then instantly freeze once he started speaking again.

      Meanwhile, my ob likes to refer to herself as the baby whisperer because she has noticed how well he does once she comes in, too. Which I think is funny and makes me like her even more.

      I am hoping to have the same result this time around as last time–20 lbs lighter than pre-pregnancy one week post partum!! Pretty cool indeed!! I aleeady know that over 6 lbs of my weight is all baby.

      I’m eager to hear about your next appointment! I also find myself wondering which one of us will end up having our baby first. There will obviously have to be a little delay in conveying the news via the blog for either of us I would imagine. So, I’m just hoping your delay and mine don’t coincide in such a way as for me to be clueless for like a week. I have been keeping you and your delivery in my prayers so I have a vested interest! Ha!

      1. Did they tell you how much your little guy weighed at your growth ultrasound? Mine is tomorrow. Getting so anxious that he is going to be a huge baby. (My mom had two 10+lb babies and that scares me!)

        Thank you so much for the prayers. You have no idea how much that means to me! I will be praying for you and your baby as well. πŸ™‚ I will try to update as soon as possible after baby is born. Last time, I posted a picture and weight etc while in the hospital. My grandma and several aunts are reading my blog, waiting for updates, so I can’t delay it by too much lol. πŸ˜‰

      2. I think Eva was somewhere in the 6 pound range as well and she ended up only being 7 lbs 2 oz at birth at 39 weeks 4 days. I wonder how much this guy will gain. He sure seemed to slow down from 32 weeks until this week.

        How much did Tru weigh at birth? I could stalk your blog to find the answer I’m sure, but I will just ask you instead! Ha!

        I don’t have any family following my blog (my choice) so my update might take a bit longer. We shall see how I am feeling! I checked myself out of the hospital a day early last time, but I doubt I will be doing that this time unless I end up with a c section again.

        I am definitely praying for you and baby (and hubs, too)! Thank you for your prayers as well!

      3. Tru was 6lbs 6oz born at 37+2. So obviously they over-estimated his weight the week before.

        I only let a very select few family members follow my blog but even though there are no googleable full names, I’ve still had ppl find me. Not sure how. Sometimes I wish it was fully anonymous but I could always start another blog I guess….

      4. Apparently! I’m going to be surprised if he is less than 8 lbs really.

        The fully anonymous part is really helpful for me. I don’t feel the need to censor myself or be mindful of hirting feelings. I wouldn’t be able to write some of my posts otherwise (usually the more lengthy, personal posts like about my mom or meetibg my husband).

  2. Great news! That is wonderful to hear that your diet has truly helped!
    I can still wear 5 of 6 rings. And my rings are always looser when my fingers are cold. I’m expecting water gain soon like last time…we’ll see.

  3. WOohooo so glad I didn’t miss the arrival of baby!!!! I am back now and praying that you’ll get the kind of birth you want!!!

    1. I was wondering where you have been just the other day. Good to hear from you!

      I have been having a lot of cramping and some other signs that maybe labor is not very far away (had a contraction last night that made my entire abdomen hard as a rock, too). So, not too terribly much longer I think! Fingers are crossed I get my natural birth!

      1. WOohoo!!! I had my Holly at 37 weeks and she was perfectly fine and ready to go home the next day. She was 7 lbs something….well if she would’ve waited until 40 weeks she would’ve been 10 pounds!!!!! Yup I’m still here the computer took a crash and had to wait patiently for a new one….plus ya know all these kids around here needing me lol

      2. I wasn’t overly worried, but I’m glad all is well. Homeschooling alone is a full-time plus job I’m sure. I’m thinking my baby boy may arrive around March 18th. But all these signs and symptoms have me wondering if it won’t be sooner than that even. March 23rd is my due date.

Leave a Reply

