Older Moms Are So Cool

I never wanted to be an older mom. I wanted to have all my children while in my twenties. I know I’m not the only one with such early-life aspirations, either.

As I carry this child knowing I am 30 already, I don’t care so much about age anymore. I have most definitely decided against birth control that requires the manipulation of my hormones.

So, anything could happen…in theory, if my PCOS takes a chill pill.

I could end up being 40 and pregnant.

I could even be 45 and pregnant. Hey, MTV, that would make a much better show than 16 and Pregnant! Middle Aged and Pregnant doesn’t have the same shock value, but man, I would actually enjoy watching a middle aged woman experience pregnancy, for so many reasons!

Anyway, back to the point. I read an article in The Washington Post that made me smile. If you are thinking about adoption a little later in life, then this may be the article for you! Follow the link below.

Why I like being an older mom
http://wapo.st/1vzSKbQ

12 Replies to “Older Moms Are So Cool”

  1. I’m the opposite-źI wanted to wait as long as possible to have kids (I was ignorant of infertility and risks). But what is nice about being 35 is that I got to party like a rockstar in my 20’s and now I can be a SAHM with no regrets 🙂 XOXO

  2. I’d totally watch that show if MTV did it! Although it would probably be a better fit for Lifetime lol. Being an older mom is going to be great. (I’m 39) I don’t feel like I’m missing out on anything because I had plenty of time to all the crazy stuff in my 20s/30s. And now I can’t wait to do even more stuff but with a little kiddo in tow.

    1. I would really enjoy such a show I think.

      Yes, you don’t feel like you are missing the ‘fun’ things. It’s amazing, too, how much of a better parent I am now that I have really been through some stuff.

  3. Thanks for that article! The (5) passing years of trying and failing miserably opened up a lot of sad days about being an “old mom,” and it influences our conversations about 2 or 3 and whether we’ll really end up transferring our 4 remaining normal embryos if we get as lucky the second time around as we did with our first. I have been thinking a lot of about being an old lady at the playground, but the article has a lot of truth in it. Just the maternity leave alone – I could never have afforded to take a full year if I’d gotten knocked up on a normal timeline when I started trying at 30, or when I started to feel the baby fever at 28. And I know, for sure, I will be a much better parent now than I would have then.

    1. Absolutely! It really spoke to me, too. This time around I’m not working 60 hours a week while pregnant just to pay bills. It’s amazing to me the difference (for the better) a few years can make.

  4. Thanks for sharing the article! My baby is due June 2nd and I’ll be turning 34 on June 6th. I’m older than I wanted to be, but that’s life. A lot of people I went to college with (in their 20’s still) are now having babies. I see how it would be different, but I definitely think there are advantages to being an older or a younger mom. 🙂

  5. This is hilarious to me – at 30 you are a young mum in my part of the world. Actually, seriously, a young mum. I only have two friends who had kids at 30 and the rest of us thought it was an incredibly responsible thing to be doing already. I don’t regret having E at 35 (though, of course we’d have longer to resolve our secondary infertility issues if we’d moved quicker) as I know what travelling and striving at work and studying for a million years feels like, and I can revel in my time with E without wondering what I missed. I guess life is what you make it and if I’d done things differently I’d probably think that was great too, but I’m happy with my choices.

    1. In 2008, the average age of a first-time mother in the U.S. was 25. 25-27 seems to be pretty standard for my area. Most women in my area are done having babies by 32-35. I’m not sure why U.S. women have married and birthed so early compared with the rest of the developed world, except maybe it started with World War 1 or 2. Just 30 years ago, most women had their first baby around age 21.

      I wonder if the average age won’t drop a bit in the coming years because being an unwed, single mother no longer carries the stigma it once did. Who knows!

      In the U.S., we also treat pregnancies as high risk in mothers that are 35+. Is this just a U.S. thing, too?

      1. A UK news article I found from mid-2014 says that the average age for a mum to give birth in the UK has risen steadily since the mid-70’s and is now 30 with the 30-34 age bracket having the “highest fertility of any age group”. I think the National Health Service flags 40+ as a risk factor for a pregnancy. The US is an enormous place compared to the UK though and I guess there is huge variation by state. So many of us in the UK live in the south east of England around London (one third of the UK’s population) and it’s enormously expensive so you work all your 20’s and maybe early 30’s to get enough financial security and to a senior enough role that you can take time out to start a family. It’s madness really as it can then cost a fortune in medical intervention to get pregnant!

      2. The mid-70’s is when the average first time mother age began to rise here as well. There definitely is a lot of variation between regions here, though. Some areas of the country here have extremely high living costs (like the entire northeast and pretty much anywhere along a coastline). I will have to see if I can find statistics for those states. It would make sense to have to wait longer to become financially secure enough to procreate.

        We don’t have mandatory paid maternity leave here. You have to work for a company for an entire year to even be guaranteed 12 weeks off without losing your position. Still usually unpaid (unless you happen to work somewhere with paid vacation or sick time).

        Is fertility treatment covered at all by the public healthcare system in the UK?

Leave a Reply

