Birth Plans: Part 3 of 3

In Part 1 and Part 2, I shared my birth plan for a spontaneous birth and an induced labor and delivery. This go around, it is all about the C word!

That’s right–cesarean section.

Having had a previous cesarean, I definitely have some preferences based on that experience. I also know that if I am having a c section, chances are it is for a really good reason and there isn’t a whole lot of wiggle room for nurses and doctors to accommodate my wishes. Not to mention, even if the nurse caring for me reads my birth preferences for cesarean section, most likely there will not be time or opportunity for her to communicate a long list of desires to the surgeon, pediatrician, anesthesiologist and the team of surgical nurses and pediatric nurses. There are a lot of people involved with a c section.

Keeping that in mind, we kept things short and sweet.

 

Cesarean Birth Preferences

So, here is a brief overview of some preferences that may save you from having to ask or assume. We get that there is a large number of people involved in a cesarean birth. We don’t expect you to be able to communicate everything to everyone simultaneously. But, please pass along #2 for us to the anesthesiologist if you can.

  1. We are all about informed consent for our entire stay. If a decision needs to be made, please ask us both. Wake me (mom) up if I am sleeping.
  2. I (mom) have been through a C-section previously, and I want to be as alert as possible. Keep the drugs to numbing only; I don’t need anything for anxiety or to calm me. Previous c-section, I shook uncontrollably and the drugs made me want to vomit. Ask the anesthesiologist to have a cool rag handy for my head. It helped prevent the vomiting last time.
  3. We want skin-to-skin contact as soon as possible.
  4. We want our son in the recovery room with us as long as he has been declared good to go.
  5. Breastfeeding.
  6. No bottles.
  7. No pacifier.

Thank you so very much for all your hard work in caring for us while we are with you. We greatly appreciate every effort you make on our behalf!

7 Replies to “Birth Plans: Part 3 of 3”

  1. Thanks for sharing all of these. I have found them to be really helpful. I wonder what you would suggest for people who have never given birth before? How do you make decisions about what you want – or even know what to make decisions about?

    1. Well, what is your approach to birth? Are you going for completely natural or do you plan to get an epidural? I only ask because there are classes that I would recommend if you are doing natural and different classes if you are going to do an epidural. If you can find an instructor in your area for the Bradley Method, the class will be worth every single penny. The course focuses on educating you about all the different choices and options without telling you that you have to do it one specific way.

      Also, I am a huge, huge fan of Ina May’s Guide to Childbirth. So incredibly helpful and educational. It is a look at natural childbirth outside of a hospital setting. If you are squeamish about birth stories, then skip the first 100 pages. I found the birth stories to be really helpful, though, because I am all about wanting to know what to expect when/what does normal look like.

      1. Bradley classes are still good even if you are getting an epidural, btw. But, the focus is on educating you and helping your significant other be a great advocate and coach during labor and delivery.

      2. I guess I figured that I will probably play it by ear, but drugs are an option. I haven’t educated myself about them though. I will do so me research to find information on the Bradley Method and perhaps look into the book you have recommended. I appreciate it! Thank you so much. ❤

      3. Good luck to you! I’m going to say a whole bunch more now that may come off as me being a know-it-all, but that isn’t my intent. Completely ignore the rest if you don’t want to hear it. This is how I feel about the labor and delivery process:
        The more educated you are the better advocate you will be for yourself and your baby. The more educated and prepared for the entire process you are the more likely you will have a successful vaginal delivery. And by you, I really mean me. There really is such a huge mind/body connection where birth is concerned. It isn’t a disease process; it isn’t something fixable. There isn’t a magic pill to make it go fast and smooth. It is just so unlike anything else we do as humans. Once it’s happening, it’s happening, but we have to take an active role. I had a hard time committing my mind to the process last time (somewhere between needing to surrender and being actively involved is what I couldn’t achieve). I thought basically I just had to show up and everything else would fall into place. I never took a class; the only book I read was What To Expect When Expecting. As a result, I never dilated past 6 cm. I got an epidural as soon as possible; they had ruptured my membranes hours prior. I didn’t know I should have been up and moving. I didn’t know…a lot of things. I ended up feeling out of control and overwhelmed. My own fault and problem, yes. The entire hospital process isn’t designed to help the clueless like me birth a baby naturally.

        I don’t want to give the impression that I think there is only one right way for people to have babies. I so strongly believe that everyone should figure that out for themselves, before it’s go time! Ha! I’m praying I have learned from my mistakes. I guess we’ll find out in a few more weeks!

Leave a Reply

