My Legacy

What’s my legacy?

I realize I’m only 30. I shouldn’t be contemplating my legacy yet. But, if I don’t contemplate it now, what can I possibly do to change it when my life is already in its twilight?

What is my vision for my life?

I never even thought that someone could have a vision for their life when I was fresh out of high school. I thought that people had dreams, many unrealistic, that either just happened or didn’t. A vision implies actively working toward something. Or, even better, actively crafting and shaping until the result is a replica of your vision.

What are my goals?

Goals sound like a finish line. Goals make me think of hitting a point and calling it a day. I suppose I do have goals, like giving birth naturally.  That most definitely has a finish line, thankfully. But I don’t feel like I should have a life goal. I don’t want to stop, to cross the finish line in life.

What is my philosophy?

Oh my. Have you ever tried to explain evolution to a 6-year-old girl full of curiosity and questions? If that doesn’t solidify your philosophy, then I’m not sure what will.

What am I babbling on about?

Well, other than the fact that I just tend to babble anyway, I do have a point. The first 4 questions above are typical, universal questions we ask ourselves and others throughout life. Many job interviews will contain questions such as these. Do you have the answers?

Today, I have my answers. I have my legacy, my vision, my goals and my philosophy all outlined, road mapped and solidified.

All of those things all revolve around my children (born and unborn). I want to live intentionally, with the purpose of creating a legacy that will long outlive me. My goals will never involve a finish line, but instead will grow and evolve and change from one moment to the next. I want to be the road map my children will need to navigate life.

Life isn’t always easy, but it isn’t always hard, either. Life is only as hard as I make it. I cannot control the uncontrollable, but I can control my outlook and my response. I want to live as an intentional participant, not a reactionary respondent.

Today, I am determined to take the long view on life. How about you?

2 Replies to “My Legacy”

  1. I’ve thought about this a lot lately with my wife and I unlikely to ever become parents. I think its extremely hard to leave a legacy behind w/out children. It can be done but its very unlikely. With kids you can not only leave your genetic legacy with them but also by passing down traditions and values just as our parents did for us.

    At 34 I hear where you are coming from but we have a lot of our life ahead of us. As tough as it is sometimes you just have to live in the present and not look to what the future might look like. Easier said than done though.

    1. I have about a billion (23 on my side, 8 on my husband’s) nieces and nephews. I know I have made an impact on several of them, but I don’t think I would classify it as something permanent in the legacy category.

      I wonder if I didn’t have children what my focus would be instead, but I’m pretty sure I would be transferring all of that energy to work. That’s just my nature to want to know I have made some sort of change in the world. And change is so transient. Hmm. Maybe I’m more of an idealist than I thought.

      34 is still most definitely young. I just like to pause and check the air in the tires, kind of, every once in a while. I spent a few years in survival mode (single parent days). It’s nice to be able to reflect.

Leave a Reply

