Breast Milk Storage Solutions

Well, I asked for feedback on the blog here about what was the best breast milk storage system.  I didn’t get much feedback on that post, so I started asking all of my real-life mommies.  Everyone had a different answer.  There wasn’t a single system that was mentioned more than any other by these ladies.  Now what do I do?  Well, I plan on following the advice I did hear time and again from these ladies.  Here it is:

1. Buy the cheap stuff!  Each one had started off with one expensive storage system or another, but none of them had stayed with it.  One mom hadn’t been able to stick with breastfeeding for longer than 6 months, and her biggest lament was she felt she hadn’t gotten her money’s worth out of her storage system.  The other moms (comprised of a group that breastfed until 12-24 months) all switched from the expensive reusable storage system to the cheapest disposable system they could find.  None of them were any less or more satisfied with either product, which brings me to piece of advice number…

2. Storing breast milk can get messy no matter what you do!  Don’t cry over spilled milk, seemed to be the general consensus.  Sometimes bags and storage bottles break.  Sometimes bags and storage bottles don’t seal as well as they should.  There doesn’t seem to be a perfect answer for these issues.

3. Don’t drop the reusable storage bottles (such as those that come with the Medela pumps) while they are frozen because they will crack!

4.  Do what works for me.  That one is pretty simple.  I think I can handle that!

In my research, I found a website with some helpful tips as well.  It provides a list of suggested buys for breastfeeding accessories.  Carol Johnson is the author and you can take a look here if you’re interested.

15 Replies to “Breast Milk Storage Solutions”

      1. Its is super easy! I was so tired of buying disposable things! Let me know when you get there if you have any questions and how it works for you. Congratulations!

  1. I think you nailed it on the head with number 2. Everything is going to leak at some point. I learned to thaw my bags of milk in a plastic container in the fridge to minimize the mess. It’s pretty heartbreaking to have to throw away an 8 oz bag of milk because it leaked everywhere so I would suggest freezing in smaller portions. And I can attest to number 3 as well. Grrrrrr.
    Glad to know that I shouldn’t invest in fancy reusable storage though. I had started looking into it and couldn’t believe how expensive it was!! I don’t really think it would even be an option for me.

    1. Did you read the comments about the reusable silicone tray with the lid? You can freeze in 2 oz chunks, and then because the tray is flexible you can pop out the frozen chunk and place it in a ziplock. I’m thinking this will be my best solution.

      1. That is also what the nurse told me at the hospital. I don’t know why I never actually did that! I just totally forgot about it I guess. It makes perfect sense and does sound less messy. I may give that a try as well. I like that the tray has a lid!

      1. It makes sense to me. Even if the only tray I like is $16.99 a piece (Amazon price, I might be able to find something at a local store or Wal-Mart), that has to be cheaper in the long run than buying the cheapest disposable bags. A lot of bottles isn’t really a solution for me because I don’t own a deep freezer. I could fit a couple of those trays in my freezer though without rearranging my life.

Leave a Reply

