Quick update–Gestational Diabetes

Well, I have officially been diagnosed with gestational diabetes.  I already have  some experience with diabetes and a diabetic diet, luckily (is that lucky, really?).  Diabetes runs in my family, on both sides, and I was borderline diabetic when I was first diagnosed with polycystic ovary syndrome.  So, back to a low-carb diet for me!  My fasting blood glucose levels are quite nice, and my body managed to return to fasting levels by the third hour on the three-hour test, so I really just have to stay away from sugar and carbohydrates. I will be getting a phone call from a nutritionist soon to set up an appointment.

8 Replies to “Quick update–Gestational Diabetes”

    1. I did my glucose tolerance test Wednesday and failed. I should add my doctor skipped the 1 hour glucose tolerance test and went straight for the 3 hour just because of my past history being borderline.
      The only symptom I think I had would be that I get really sleepy after eating a lot of sugar/carbs.

    1. Thank you. I was expecting it so it made me easier I think. My ob said it is so common for us “PCOS girls” to have gestational diabetes in her experience, she said she would have been amazed if I didn’t have it.

      I see the nutritionist on Tuesday. I just love talking about diet. NOT! But, I don’t really want a 10 pound baby. Healthy baby is the goal eother way!

  1. You got this!. Sounds like you can keep things under control with diet. Totally worth the sacrifices for a healthy (and normal sized) baby. Just watch out during and after delivery… Your sugars may tank! Keep some juice on hand. 🙂

Leave a Reply

