I’m That Mom

I’m that mom that wears pajama pants in the morning on the way to the bus stop.  I don’t get out of my car, my neighbors don’t pay attention, and let’s face it–they are the warmest pair of pants I own that fit comfortably still (thank you, pregnancy).

I’m that mom that only has two pairs of jeans because she would rather spend the money shopping for her daughter.

I’m that mom that wipes the dirt off her child’s face at the last minute using spit and a finger.

I’m that mom that immediately gets her feathers ruffled any time anyone has anything negative to say about her child.  I thought I would always be the understanding, rational mom that got to the root of the problem without much difficulty.  Wrong!  It is a struggle to keep my mouth shut and listen to all the facts before making a conclusion (which of course in my mind is always if you don’t think she is perfect then stay away).

I’m that mom that would rather buy her child something than get a hair cut or highlights.

I’m that mom that only gets a babysitter when Grandma, Grandpa, or her child beg her for a night together.  That’s my choice, not my lot in life.  My child isn’t a burden.  My husband and I do things as a family.  What do we need to do that she can’t?

I’m that mom that let’s her house be messy.  There are more important things than a clean house.

I’m that mom that makes sure to get a good snuggle in before bed.

I’m that mom that worries, a lot, about her child’s future self.  If I don’t look at the big picture, I might get lost in the moment.

I’m that mom that nags her child to brush her teeth twice a day.

I’m that mom that wants to be her child’s parent, not her child’s friend.  Eva has lots of friends, but she only has one mom.

I’m that mom that won’t allow her child to tell her no.  A compromise is always possible, but no is never an option.

I’m that mom that reminds her child life isn’t always fair.

I’m that mom that believes lessons about real life are just as important as lessons from textbooks.

I’m that mom that believes boundaries and expectations are just as important as hugs and snuggles.

I’m that mom that reminds her child to be nice to everyone, even to that girl in her class that doesn’t share nicely.

I’m that mom that chose to work from home so she could be more available for her daughter.  I also have the luxury of choice, thanks to my husband’s earning ability.  I wish every parent had that choice, at least once for a few months.

I’m that mom, because that’s who I want to be.  I’m that mom because my daughter is so valuable to me, and I want her to know it in everything I do.  She is precious and mine, and raising her makes me happier than anything else in this world.  She is my girl.  Sometimes she forgets as I’m making her clean her room, or making her pick up her dirty clothes, or making her choose a healthy snack instead of that cookie she has been craving all day, but she is my girl.  I’m that mom, because my mom was that mom, too.  My mom is proud of the mom I have become, and I am, too.  I hope someday Eva gets the honor of motherhood, and that she makes her grandmother and I proud all over again.

6 Replies to “I’m That Mom”

  1. Awww very sweet!! It can be a hard line to walk some days, but she will appreciate it all one day, just as you appreciate your mom. 🙂 Congrats on your second blessing on the way. Lots more love and learning ahead!

  2. Mindy,
    This is precious! I love how real, honest, genuine (and I can keep going with the synonyms) you are. Thank you for putting things in perspective. May God continue to bless you with strength, courage, wisdom, health, happiness, and wealth to help many others with your beautiful words.

Leave a Reply

