WANTED: Electric Breast Pump Advice

First of all, let me say that I have no desire whatsoever to ever, ever feed my baby directly from the source (i.e. da boobies).  I realize I’m weird, and this is my own personal issue, and I do not take issue with women that don’t have mental issues where breastfeeding is concerned.  I have been reading and researching breastfeeding my baby, and I have come to the conclusion that I will gladly pump until my nipples fall off if it means my baby gets proper nutrition and I never have to feed him directly from my breast.  Now, it’s possible (like, as in, it’s possible my husband will be the next president of the United States) I will be able to work through the fact that feeding my child from my boob is a thought that makes me want to vomit.  However, I’m going to proceed as if I will be using a pump to express my milk from day one.

I have read a lot of reviews,  breastfeeding ladies out there, and let me say I appreciate every single one of you that took the time to write a review about a breast pump, ever, at any point in time. 

Okay, appreciation aside, I need more up-to-date, situation-specific information.  I need a recommendation for a breast pump with the thought in mind that this pump will be all I’m using to express milk.  My insurance will cover several pumps and even contribute significantly (a couple hundred) to a pump not covered if that’s what I choose, so expense isn’t exactly a limiting factor.  I will be a stay at home mom, but I will be working from home and busy playing chauffeur for my daughter (age six–so many playdates, so little time).  Portability isn’t a deciding factor here, though.  I just need something with a high rating of functionality, reliability, and…well, I really don’t want my nipples to fall off.  Something that isn’t excruciating to use would be great.  I am not so much for pain emanating from my nipples several times daily.  Something that doesn’t require a ton of cleaning would be nice, too, but again pain-free is a definite plus.  I have been looking at the Medela Pump In Style because it seems to have the most consistent “it’s great” feedback with most of the few complaints being about its lack of portability.  Thoughts?  Experiences?  Suggestions?

Any advice about which breast pump is the best for my situation would be much appreciated!

19 Replies to “WANTED: Electric Breast Pump Advice”

  1. I have the pump in style and I loved it. It was perfectly portable for me and believe me, I hauled it around a lot. That being said, if you are exclusively pumping I really think you should look into a better hospital grade pump. That’s what the lactation consultants recommend for mom’s pumping for babies in the nicu etc in situations where mom needs lots of milk minus the nipples falling off. 😉 I think the one I used in the hospital was the medela symphony but I’m not 100% sure. Loved it! It has all kinds of settings. Worked great even turned way down and didn’t cause me pain. My milk also came in by the buckets using that pump along with breastfeeding although tru wasn’t much of a nurser at first. Weak suck. So I would definitely recommend that pump. I will try to verify that name for you but I’m almost positive it was the symphony.

  2. I have the medela pump in style that comes in the tote. I love it. It’s very easily portable I used it more at home cause I’m a stay at home mom, you can adjust the suction too . but eventually your nipples will hurt no matter what pump you have. Just buy some lanolin that works amazingly well and you don’t have to clean it off or anything. It’s non toxic and okay to use while pumping. It’s very easy to clean and I had the warranty and it wasn’t auctioning good they sent me a replacement for free and it works great. I love it in general. The company is awesome. Also it’s a double pump so you can get both breasts at the same time. I didn’t really breast feed cause it was just weird for me.. Though when baby is born your best bet is to breast feed to get you started. You’ll get more milk from breast feeding then you can switch to pumping. I also bought a pumping bra. It’s a zipper bra that you can fit both pumps into while still being able to move around and not be stuck in one spot. I recommend them. http://m.target.com/p/medela-easy-expressions-white-bustier/-/A-13138090?ref=tgt_adv_XSG10001&AFID=google_pla_df&LNM=13138090&CPNG=Baby&kpid=13138090&LID=9pgs&ci_src=17588969&ci_sku=13138090&kpid=13138090&gclid=CNmXha-b6sECFQeGaQodoYwA4A

  3. I’m currently exclusively pumping and I use the Medela Pump In Style BUT if your insurance covers pumps I would definitely look into renting the Medela Symphony. It’s more efficient and will save you tons of time, tons. Also if you need any other advice let me know, since I’m currently living it!

  4. Look into the medical grade ones if you can, they are the ones the hospital has you start using after labor. The pump my insurance covered seemed so puny in comparison. Also the Mandela hand pump is awesome and I used that way more since I had more control over the speed etc…

  5. If you are exclusively pumping I would recommend renting a pump directly from your hospital. It is by far stronger than the pump I bought myself (I can’t even remember which one it was and I researched it like crazy before purchasing). It might not be covered by insurance, but in my opinion it’s so worth the cost. I was mostly exclusively pumping with a little breast feeding thrown in.

  6. I exclusively pumped for my son and it’s hard. I won’t lie. It’s more time consuming than you could imagine but it was important to me and like you at the time I couldn’t come to terms with actually using my breasts to feed my baby from the source.

    I used a medela pump in style I believe. It comes in a bag so it looks like a black purse or diaper bag. 2 pumps so I could double pump and do both at the same time. It worked well for me-has a cord and battery option. I pumped 8oz-12oz every time.

    You have to pump every 3-4 hours around the clock. I was a SAHM so middle of the night feeding a were on me (his dad worked 3rds) it would take 1-2 hours each feeding from the time I got up until the time I slept. I’d get up, change the baby, warm the bottle, feed him, rock him to sleepy, put him to bed, pump, clean the pump, store the milk and back to bed. I would pump every 3-4 hours for 15-20 minutes or until my milk stopped flowing.

    I used the medela steam bags to clean my parts. You will also need nipple cream after each pumping session. You might also need different sized flanges (the plastic part) extra tubing, valves, etc. I kept it all on hand.

    You will also need to decide what kind of storage system you want to use. I used playtex drop-ins so I got the adaptor to pump directly into the bottle/liner, I’d keep one boobie bottle in the fridge and freeze the other. Once solid I’d take it out of the bottle and store the frozen milk in a freezer bag.

    Pumping is hard and time consuming. It’s a commitment you have to make and I found short term goals helped me keep going. Even though I gave up after 4 months. I ended up in the hospital for 4 days and tainted milk for 7 days. During which he used up all my freezer stash and had to be put on formula before my milk was safe again.

    This time I am comfortable with nursing and totally excited to nurse.

  7. I like you was not excited about breastfeeding due to things that happened to me as a child and once I held my baby it just came natural to breastfeed and that what had happened to me never bothered me when it came to my baby. Of course I never feed around people other then my husband. But back to the Breast pump I have had the medela pump in style advanced It comes with its own bag and everything is always in the it super easy to clean and when i was pumping i could get 30oz a pump im guess im part jersey cow. But i really like the last one I got I have the medela that you put in your own diaper bag and makes It nice not having 3 bags for baby, older sisters and then the pump. Also when pumping I noticed I would produce a lot more milk then when I was just breastfeeding. Hope this helps and congratulations

    1. Thank you for your input! I am hoping it will end up being no big deal once my son is here but I want to be prepared either way. I just find it weird and so counter-intuitive to me (which I realize sounds ridiculous). We shall see! Thanks again for stopping by and commenting!

Leave a Reply

