It Happens

I have the evening shift today at work. In the interest of my family, in my own, I decided to spend my morning grocery shopping and clean.

While in the grocery store, I spend most of my time in the produce section.  We live in a small community of just a few thousand, and it was only ten o’clock in the morning.  There was only an older gentleman in the produce section with me. I had just added some apples to my cart and moved along to the grapes, when suddenly an apple was thrust into my field of view.

“Does this say gala?”

I turned to see the older gentleman was the one holding the apple.  His skin around his eyes was all scrunched up, as though he was still trying to read the tiny label on the apple.  I looked down again at the apple.

“Yes, it does,” I replied.  He moved back to the apples and started bagging some into a produce bag.  I hesitated for a moment, and then I stepped over to him.

“There are bagged apples here that are gala apples and they are a little cheaper,” I said.

He reached into his shirt pocket and pulled out a snack size Milky Way candy bar.  He pushed this little treat into my hand and smiled.

“I don’t like the bagged apples because they are smaller, but thanks for being concerned about an old guy like me,” he jabbed a thumb into his chest.  “That’s your prize,” he said still smiling.

I couldn’t help but smile in response, and as I opened my mouth to thank him, he said, “That isn’t what you usually get for helping somebody, is it?”

I shook my head no and before I could respond, he thanked me, wished me a good day, and was off.

My little “treat” is still in my purse, and I can’t help but shake my head and smile as I think about it.

8 Replies to “It Happens”

  1. What a heartwarming story! It just goes to prove that every time we reach out to someone else…we are rewarded more than they are. And thanks for the follow! I look forward to sharing more life stories! Be well. ~Karen~

Leave a Reply

